You are here

Harvard University Archives
Hours & Location
The Archives' reading room hours for Friday, December 9 are 10:30 am to 2:30 pm.

 

 

Hours & Location

Professor John Haller. HUGFP 84 (Digital Image 2)
 
 

 

Hours

Reading Room: Monday through Friday, 10:30am – 4:30pm

Records Center orders: Monday through Friday, 9:00am – 3:00pm

University Archives office: Monday through Friday, 9:00am – 5:00pm

 

Holiday Closings and Special Hours

2016

New Year's Day - Friday, January 1
Martin Luther King Day - Monday, January 18
Tuesday, January 19 - Reading Room hours are 11:00am to 3:30pm
Presidents Day - Monday, February 15
Commencement - Thursday, May 26
Memorial Day - Monday, May 30
Independence Day - Monday, July 4
Labor Day - Monday, September 5
Columbus Day - Monday, October 10
Veterans Day - Friday, November 11
Thanksgiving - Thursday, November 24
Day after Thanksgiving - Friday, November 25
Friday, December 9 - Reading Room hours are 10:30 am to 2:30 pm
Christmas Eve (observed) – Friday, December 23 : Reading Room closed; Office hours 9:00am to noon
Winter Recess - Monday, December 26 to Friday, December 30

2017

New Year's Day (Observed) - Monday, January 2
Martin Luther King Day - Monday, January 16
Presidents' Day - Monday, February 20
Commencement - Thursday, May 25
Memorial Day - Monday, May 29
Independence Day - Tuesday, July 4
Labor Day - Monday, September 4
Columbus Day - Monday, October 9
Veterans Day (observed) - Friday, November 10
Thanksgiving - Thursday, November 23
Day after Thanksgiving - Friday, November 24
Christmas Eve (observed) - Friday, December 22 : Reading Room closed; Office hours 9:00am to noon
Winter Recess - Monday, December 25 to Friday, December 29

 

Location

Harvard University Archives
Pusey Library – Harvard Yard
Cambridge, MA 02138

Latitude: 42.373561    Longitude: -71.115891

The Harvard University Archives is located in Pusey Library in Harvard Yard.  Non-Harvard ID holders who plan to conduct research in the Archives reading room should register with the Library Privileges Office in Widener Library before arriving at Pusey Library. A photo ID is required for all visitors.The Harvard University Archives is wheelchair-accessible through Lamont Library. Lamont Library is located at the corner of Massachusetts Avenue and Quincy Street in the far southeast corner of Harvard Yard, east of Harvard Square. A map of Pusey and Lamont Libraries can be found here.

Directions

By Car: From I90–Massachusetts Turnpike: Take the Cambridge/Allston exit. Bear right, go straight, cross the River Street Bridge, and immediately make a left turn onto Memorial Drive. At the third light, turn right onto JFK Street. Drive straight into Harvard Square. (Out of Town News, on your right, marks the center of Harvard Square.)On-street parking is scarce in Cambridge, but there are several public parking lots and garages around the Square.


By Subway (the "T"):  Harvard Yard is steps away from the Harvard Square stop on the RED Line of the MBTA (the "T"), Boston's subway system.


By Train or Bus: Amtrak and bus terminals are located at both North Station and South Station.  From South Station take the RED Line outbound (toward ALEWIFE) for six stops to Harvard Square.  From North Station take either the GREEN Line  inbound (towards PARK STREET) and switch to the RED Line outbound (towards ALEWIFE) to Harvard Square.


From Logan Airport:

By Subway (the "T"): Take the SILVER Line to SOUTH STATION. Switch to the RED Line outbound (toward Alewife) for six stops to HARVARD SQUARE. A ride costs $2.00, using a CharlieTicket pass.

By Taxi: The ride to Harvard Square takes about 20–30 minutes, depending upon traffic. Typically, the ride costs approximately $35–$40.

 

Print directions